Q I am lactose intolerant, should I be worried about casein?
Casein is found mainly in dairy products, so if you are avoiding all dairy products then your chances of consuming casein are low, but be cautious as some other foods also contain casein. Be wary when a product says lactose-free, as it may not be casein-free. When you go out for a meal to a restaurant, make sure your food is not cooked in butter, which will have traces of casein in.
You don’t have to worry about not having casein in your diet, as there are plenty of other foods available where you can get the necessary amount of protein from.
About our expert
Chef, teacher and writer Lisa Roukin, author of My Relationship with Food has as her main focus the desire to develop gluten- and wheat-free recipes. She runs her own business teaching private cookery lessons and demonstrations, based around her healthy way of eating. She has cooked live on BBC Radio, and was a finalist on Gordon Ramsey’s The F Word. She is also a blogger for the Huffington Post and provides gluten-free recipes to Ocado. www.myrelationshipwithfood.com
Do you need help with your free-from cooking, or do you have a nutritional query? Email your question to firstname.lastname@example.org